The Union of National Employees has many essential standing committees that oversee certain day-to-day operations and larger projects. These committees are composed of National Executive members and Assistant Regional Vice-Presidents. Each committee also has a technical advisor and administrative assistant from UNE staff.


By-Laws and Policies Committee
Collective Bargaining Committee
Communications and Member Engagement Committee
Education Committee
Francophone Committee
Finance Committee
Honours and Awards Committee
Human Resources Committee
Local Governance Committee
Disciplinary Committee
Occupational Health and Safety Committee
Representation Committee
Restorative Justice Committee - Ad Hoc
Structural Review Committee - Ad Hoc

Honours and Awards Committee

Members of the
Honours and Awards Committee

  • Phyllis Allen
  • Cheryl Dubree
  • Mary Lynn Elms
  • André Miller
  • Gloria Pfeifer
  • Franco Picciano
    Technical Advisor
  • Emily Gault-Due
    Administrative Assistant

Honours and Awards Committee

Terms of Reference 

January 2022

  1. This committee shall be responsible for dealing with all Union of National Employees bursaries, awards and honours assigned to it including:
    1. UNE President Bursaries for Continuing Education
    2. Alfred Papineau Bursary
    3. Laurier Auger Bursary
    4. Life Membership
    5. Honourary Membership
    6. Local Activist Award
  2. Reviews all National Honours, Awards and Bursaries on a regular basis during a mandate between Conventions.
  3. Union of National Employees members in good standing may attend meetings of the committee as an observer. All expenses incurred by observers attending the meeting are the responsibility of the individual observer or their local. Prior approval must be sought from the committee chair.
  4. Should the chair of the committee be absent from the executive meeting, the committee members will decide amongst themselves who will present the report of the committee to the National Executive.
  5. Quorum for the committee is 50 percent of established committee members.
  6. All members of the committee will be given reasonable notice in advance of any scheduled meetings of the committee.

© 2024 UNE
Twitter Instagram Contact Us Webmail